New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the election dates for the Legislative Assembly polls in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland on Thursday. The EC declared that polling in Tripura will take place on 18 February while in Meghalaya and Nagaland it will take place in 27 February. The results will be declared on 3 March.

Notably, the terms of Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura Assemblies will end on 6 March, 13 March and 14 March respectively. There are 60 seats each in all the 3 states.

Noteworthy, in Tripura the Communist Party of India (Marxist) has been ruling its strong power for the past 25 years. The present Chief Minister Manik Sarkar is at the helm for the past 19 years. He held the term for the 4th time after the party swept away the 2013 Assembly Elections. In that polls, the CPI(M) bagged the majority with 51 seats while the rest was shared between the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the Congress Party.

However, though the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to bag even a single seat in the last polls, but now the saffron party has been struggling hard to beat the communist party rule. On the other hand, 6 Congress MLAs firstly joined the TMC and earlier in August 2017 they switched over to the BJP. Really the political scenario is an unpredictable one.

Reportedly, as the tribal communities have a majority in the state, they show their power in the politics too. There are 3 major tribal parties in Tripura and these are the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT), Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT) and National Conference of Tripura (NCT).

On the other hand, Meghalaya is significant for the Congress party as it is one of the few states under its rule. The party is in power for the last 8 years in Meghalaya and had won 29 seats in the last election. However, the saffron party is now working hard to take over the state by using the development plank.The upcoming assembly elections in Meghalaya having 60 seats will mark its 10th legislature.

As for the Nagaland state assembly, the Naga People’s Front is currently dominating the House. Meanwhile, Nagaland chief electoral officer Abhijit Sinha said that the final rolls published has 11, 89,264 voters, lower than the electorate size of 11, 92,377 enumerated in 2013.Earlier on Wednesday, Chief Minister T R Zeliang met Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and briefed him about the ‘desire’ of various civil society organization and church leaders in Nagaland for a “Solution before Election”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here