Desk: The Chief Minister of Tripura, Manik Sarkar, handed his resignation to Governor Tathagata Roy on Sunday. Sarkar, who reigned for 4 terms in the state, will continue as the CM until the new government took over.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday ended the 25 year long CPI(M) rule in Tripura by winning 35 seats out of 60 seats. The CPI(M) managed only 16 seats in Tripura.

After winning the Tripura assembly elections, BJP President Amit Shah tweeted, “I thank brothers and sisters of Tripura for their massive support to BJP. This is the victory of PM @narendramodi’s politics of development and his commitment to the welfare of North-Eastern region of India.”

Meanwhile, it is likely that Biplab Kumar Deb will be the next CM of Tripura.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here